EECOM 2019 Conference Keynote Speakers Announced


Mar 2019


We are excited to announce the Keynote Speakers for the EECOM 2019 Conference!

Eriel Tchekwie Deranger is a Denesuline Indigenous woman and a member of the Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation, Treaty 8 Northern Alberta. She is the Executive Director and co-founder of Indigenous Climate Action. Deranger is recognized within Canada and internationally for her work with Indigenous youth, bridging the environmental and Indigenous rights movements together, and building an Indigenous rights based approach to challenging fossil fuel development.

Tim Swinehart teaches social studies at Lincoln High School and at the Graduate School of Education at Lewis and Clark College, in Portland, Oregon. He is recognized for his work as an outstanding social studies teacher, as a co-editor of the book, A People’s Curriculum for the Earth: Teaching Climate Change and the Environmental Crisis, and as a community organizer around social justice issues.

Laurie Adkin is a professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Alberta. Dr. Adkin is recognized for her work studying the political-economy of climate change policy in Alberta and Canada, as well as the role of provincial consultation processes in informing and legitimating Alberta’s policy directions.

Sheelah McLean has a PhD in Anti-Racist education from the University of Saskatchewan. Sheelah’s work has focused on research projects and actions that focus on the legacy of oppression experienced by Indigenous Peoples within a white settler society.

Sylvia McAdam (Saysewahum) is from the Treaty 6 lands and the nēhīyaw Nation in what is now “Canada.” She has her Juris Doctorate from the University of Saskatchewan and a Bachelor’s degree in Human Justice from the University of Regina.

Sheelah and Sylvia are both co-founders of the Idle No More movement.

You can see all #EECOM2019 Keynote Speaker biographies below and on the EECOM 2019 Conference Website, and Register TodayEECOMSaskOutdoorsThe Sustainability and Education Policy NetworkThe Sustainability Education Research Institute – SERI#EECOM2019

Register by our Early Bird Deadline of March 15 to save on your registration!