2018 Winners

Student Action for a Sustainable Future: Outstanding Organization


Duncan Whittick: Outstanding Individual in an Organization


Lisa (Diz) Glithero: Outstanding Educator


Adam Robb: Outstanding Educator


Christina Pickles: Outstanding Early Childhood Educator


Kootenay-Boundary Environmental Education: Outstanding K-12 School District


Mohawk College: Outstanding Post-Secondary Institution


Shailyn Drukis: Outstanding Youth Action

2017 Winners

Julie Mathieson: Outstanding Educator

Connel Bradwell: Outstanding Youth Action

Maureen Jack-LaCroix: Outstanding Individual in a Non-profit Organization

The Wetland Centres of Excellence: Outstanding Organization

Rivers Collegiate: Outstanding K-12

Dr. Alan Warner, George Taylor, & Terri Peace: Outstanding Post-Secondary Education

Government of Alberta: Newsmaker of the Year

Click here for more information on these winners.

2016 Winners

Haley Marie Todesco: Outstanding Youth Leader

CPAWS Southern Alberta Chapter: Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Conservation Corps Newfoundland and Labrador: Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Credit Valley Conservation: Outstanding Governmental/Governing Body

Natasha Burgess: Outstanding Teacher

ConocoPhillips Canada: Outstanding Private Company

2015 Winners

Learn to Camp, Ontario: Outstanding Governmental Governing Body

Kendra Martin, Little Falls Public School, Ontario: Outstanding Teacher

Monica Nissen, Wildsight: Outstanding Non-Profit Individual

Susan Hemphill, Scout Island Nature Centre: Outstanding Non-Profit Individual

Enviro Western, Western University: Outstanding Post-Secondary Institution, Department, Program or Club

GOT Parks, Canada-wide: Outstanding Youth-led Organization

2014 Winners

David Bell: Excellence in International Environmental Education or Communication

Niagra College, Niagra Sustainability Initiative: Outstanding Post-Secondary Individual or Institution

Petty Harbour Mini Aquarium: Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Karen McIver: Outstanding Non-Profit Individual

Columbia Basin Trust: Outstanding Governmental Governing Body or Individual

Helen Spencer: Outstanding K-12 Student, Class, Teacher, School, or School District

2012-13 Winners

Les Employées de la Biosphère (The Employees of Biosphere) : Outstanding Government Agency

Michael J. Mappin: Outstanding Post-Secondary Individual

Peter B. Gustavson School of Business: Outstanding Post-Secondary Institution

Johanna Gordon-Walker: Outstanding K-12 Teacher

Agrium Incorporated: Outstanding Private Company

Science World (BC): Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Columbia Basin Environmental Education Network (CBEEN): Outstanding EE Membership Organization

Jean Robitaille: Excellence in International EE and/or Communication

2011 Winners

City of Calgary Environmental Education Initiatives: Outstanding Government Agency

Grant Linney: Outstanding K-12 Educator

Colin Harris, Take Me Outside (TMO):  Outstanding Non-Profit Individual

Learning for a Sustainable Future: Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Canadian Wildlife Federation: Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Catherine Dumouchel: Outstanding Contributions to EECOM

2010 Winners

Dr. Catherine O’Brien: Outstanding Post-Secondary Individual

Halton’s Green Cart School Program: Outstanding Government Agency

Earth Rangers: Outstanding EE Membership Organization

Steve Dunsmuir: Outstanding K-12 Educator

Julie Huntington: Outstanding Non-Profit Individual

Craik Sustainable Living Project: Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

2009 Winners

Manitoba Hydro: Outstanding Private Company

Patrick Robertson: Outstanding Governmental Individual

AQPERE (Robert Litzler): Outstanding Non-Profit

Emile Gautreau: Outstanding Non-Profit Individual

SOEEA: Outstanding EE Membership Organization

Grant Gardner: Outstanding Contribution to EECOM

Belfountain Public School: Outstanding K-12

2008 Winners

Dan Murphy 

Opaskwayak Education Authority – Land Based Program  Outstanding Government Department or Agency

Schools on Board Outreach Program of ArcticNet at the University of Manitoba: Outstanding Post-Secondary Program

Gareth Thomson  Outstanding Non-profit Individual

Gail Moyle

Earth Day Canada  Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Brenda Penak Outstanding Contribution to EECOM

J’adopte un cours d’eau:  Outstanding Non-Profit Program

2007 Winners

Pablo Defossés: Outstanding K-12 Teacher

Ontario EcoSchools:   Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Cathy Dueck, Supervisor, Ecology Park, Peterborough:  Outstanding Non-profit Individual

Ottawa-Carleton District School Board: Outstanding K-12 School District

Childrens’ Garden and Exploring Toronto Programs, City of Toronto’s Parks, Forestry and Recreation Division:   Outstanding Government Department or Agency

Dr. Alan Warner: Outstanding Post-Secondary Individual

2006 Winners

Myles Radchenko: Outstanding Post-Secondary Individual

Dr. Rick Mrazek, Professor of Education,University of Lethbridge, Alberta: Outstanding Post-Secondary Individual

The Otesha Project: Outstanding NGO Organization

Cathy Holtslander – National Organizer, Beyond Factory Farming Coalition: Outstanding NGO Individual

Engineers without Borders: Excellence in International Environmental Education

Dr. Scott Slocombe, Professor, Department of Geography & Environmental
Studies, Wilfrid Laurier University: 
Outstanding Contribution to EECOM

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Stream to Sea: An Ecosystem Approach to Education: Outstanding Government Award

2005 Winners

Canada World Youth:  International EE Award

Evergreen, Learning Grounds Program:   Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Bob Bromley, Environmental Consultant:  Principal, Whole Arctic Consulting Ecology North:  Outstanding Non-Profit Individual

The Strathcona Wilderness Centre:  Outstanding Government Agency

Tracy Webb, Horton High School, Wolfville, Nova Scotia:   Outstanding K – 12 Teacher

Aqsarniit Middle School, Iqaluit, Nunavut:   Outstanding School

2004 Winners

Anne Camozzi:  Contribution to EECOM

M. Jean Dallaire, Collège Saint-Paul de Varennes, Varennes, Québec: Outstanding K-12 Teacher or School

Dr. John Livingston:  Outstanding Post-Secondary Institution or Individual

AQPERE L’Association québécoise pour la promotion de l’éducation relative à l’environnement:   Outstanding Environmental Education Organization

Novex Couriers, Vancouver, B.C.:  Outstanding Private Company:

Tim Grant and Gail Littlejohn, Co-Editors, Green Teacher Magazine:  Outstanding Non-Profit Individuals

Ducks Unlimited Canada:  Outstanding Non-Profit Organization

Alberta Parks and Protected Areas, for its Kananaskis Country Interpretation Programs – Kananaskis in the Classroom:   Outstanding Governmental Agency or Individual

2003 Winners

Tim Grant, Green Teacher Magazine:  Contribution to EECOM

Rene Scrutton, Springvale Elementary School, Halifax, Nova Scotia:  Outstanding K-12 Teacher or School

Dr. Milt McClaren, Professor Emeritus, Simon Fraser University:   Outstanding Post-Secondary Institution or Individual

The Global Environmental and Outdoor Education Council (GEOEC) of the Alberta Teacher’s Association:  Outstanding Environmental Education Organization

Newfoundland Power:   Outstanding Private Company

Chris Adam, Earthvalues Institute, Carignon, Québec:   Outstanding Non-Profit Organization/Individual

The Halifax Regional Adventure Earth Centre: Outstanding Governmental Agency or Individual

2002 Winners

Tantramar Regional High School, Sackville, New Brunswick:  Outstanding K-12 Teacher or School

Rosemont College:  Outstanding Post-Secondary Institution or Individual

Alcoa Première Fusion, Groupe Nord-Est:  Outstanding Private Company

Royal Saskatchewan Museum:  Outstanding Governmental Agency or Individual

La Centrale des Syndicats du Québec: Outstanding Non-Profit Organization or Individual