Our Directors

EECOM is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. In accordance with our by-laws, an election must be held to replace those Board members whose term expires in the current year; the incumbent members may stand for re-election. Participation on the Board of Directors is one of the ways to help shape EECOM’s contribution to environmental learning in Canada and to engage in meaningful dialogue with our colleagues across the country. Board members are expected to participate in teleconferences as required, to contribute to the work of EECOM committees, and to attend an annual Board retreat. To serve on the Board, a candidate must be a full EECOM member in good standing, and must be at least 18 years of age.

2017-18 Board of Directors

Bruce Ford, Chair (British Columbia)

Bruce isbruce the Sustainability Education Coordinator for Metro Vancouver.  He works collaboratively with many K-12 students, teachers and community partners to support and inspire increased engagement with place-based sustainability topics in schools, classrooms and communities. His works entails creation and delivery of K-12 teaching and learning resource materials and strategies via school programs, fieldtrips and teacher professional development and youth leadership development programs. In BC, Bruce has acted as Chair of Professional Development for BCTF’s Environmental Education Provincial Specialist Association (EEPSA) since 2006.

Dr. Alan Warner, Vice-chair (Nova Scotia)

Alan alan_warneris a professor in the Community Development and Environmental and Sustainability Studies at Acadia University in Wolfville, Nova Scotia. He has designed, led and evaluated award-winning experiential environmental education programs for over thirty years, involving more than 60,000 children and youth. He also works on education efforts to support the development of sustainable food systems and policies and has authored and co-authored a wide range of books, book chapters and academic articles in environmental education and community development.

Barret Miller, Treasurer (Manitoba)

bmsnowshoespic-2Barret has studied Psychology and Forestry, but more importantly grew up playing and learning in the bush around Pinawa, Manitoba. He’s a reformed summer camp brat who’s channeled his enthusiasm and love of nature into his work at FortWhyte Alive, an environmental education organization in southwest Winnipeg. As FortWhyte’s special Projects Interpreter, he plans and leads field programming, teacher professional development in outdoor learning and ESD, and has committed to nibbling every wild edible plant Manitoba has to offer.

Haley Higdon, Secretary (Ontario)

haleyHaley has her Masters in Child Study and Education and is the Program Lead for Natural Curiosity, a resource for educators about Environmental Inquiry that was developed by the Laboratory School at the Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study (OISE/UofT). The resource supports educators in making the shift to Environmental Inquiry through a four-branch framework. Haley facilitates Inquiry Institutes to support educators with this four-branch approach to elicits students’ natural curiosity about the world. Haley is a passionate environmentalist who also has a blog where she provides suggestions and tips to help people go green!

Adam Young, Director (Saskatchewan)

dsc09449-e14120081832561-300x300Adam is a Master’s in Educational Foundations student at the University of Saskatchewan. Working with Sustainability Education Research Network (SEPN), his research interests include resources for teachers on sustainability, in particular eco-school certification programs. His previous comparative research was on Quebec-Swedish sustainability education, which still keeps him returning to both places as often as he can.

Jason Armstrong, Director (Ontario)

Jason is thejason2 Energy Literacy Network Coordinator at the Canada Science and Technology Museum, and currently overseeing the Let’s Talk Energy initiative. Let’s Talk Energy is building the Canadian Energy Literacy Network. This is a community of practice open to professionals, organizations, and advocates who are doing substantial work to improve energy literacy in Canada.

Julie Lépine, Director (Ontario)

imag2213_1Julie graduated in Physical Geography with a specialization in Environmental Science from the University of Montreal. She has been working with Mining Matters for more than 2 years now as the Teacher Training and School Programs Bilingual coordinator. She shares her knowledge about geology, sustainable development, material science and works at raising awareness about consumption habits of non-renewable resources with educators and students across Canada. Her dynamic personality and passion for Earth Sciences shines through her workshops and presentations.

Margaret McKeon, Director (Newfoundland & Labrador)

Margaremarg picture1t has been the Outdoor Education Coordinator and Education for Sustainability Resource Teacher with the Newfoundland and Labrador English School District. She is now undertaking PhD studies at UBC where she is considering her role as a non-Aboriginal teacher helping to support Mi’kmaw cultural teaching in Western Newfoundland.


Remy Rodden, Director (Yukon)

Remy is tremy_headhe Manager of Environmental Education and Youth Programs for the Government of Yukon Territory. He leads and oversees popular wilderness-based experiential youth programs and supports environmental literacy in schools. He is first and foremost an environmental educator—a biologist, interpreter and teacher—who just happens to have a natural talent for singing and song-writing. As He is also a well-known “eco-singer” whose performances and recordings have garnered international attention. His song “What’s That Habitat?” from the album Think About the Planet is part of compilation celebrating the UN Earth Charter.

Elizabeth Boileau, Director (Alberta)

Elizabeth has worked extensively in environmental education in Quebec and Ontario and has taught early childhood education at Red River College in Manitoba. Elizabeth is currently pursuing a PhD at Lakehead University, where she is researching early childhood environmental education programs in Canada. Elizabeth is based out of Grande Prairie, Alberta.

Patrick Robertson, Director (British Columbia)

Paul Elliot, Director (Ontario)

Shannon Harding, Director (Nova Scotia)

Pascale Lea Ouellette, Director (New Brunswick)